Speck or plank? Who is the judge? Let’s move on please.

As most of you know, I do follow politics. I try not to force my opinions (too much) on others, but I feel that most people need to research and decide for themselves as to what they believe is right or wrong.

The overwhelming passion to the outcome of North Carolina’s Amendment One ranged from sad disappointment to elation. I have read several pieces from both sides and even felt I had to defend an attack on someone who is gay that I follow on Twitter. It seemed so easy for the offender to throw their Bible at this guy that I had to pick up the Bible and pitch it back at him. Sorry to @GayPatriot if I overstepped my boundaries, but I cannot stand hypocrisy. 

From what I have learned from my God, is that we are all His children and He loves us no matter what. Our Heavenly Father knows all of our sins before we are even born and has given us grace through the blood of Jesus Christ. We should endeavor to have our own personal relationship with God and not judge how others live. 

Matthew 7:1 comes to mind especially: 

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Yet some people are compelled to throw the Bible at others to purposefully hurt them, point out their sins, and all the while displeasing God themselves. It is no wonder that so many people shy away from organized religion. I shutter to think that people find Christianity synonymous with intolerance or anti-gay when I know my God loves all of us sins and all.

I consider myself a conservative amongst the political realm and most people know that. But my political believes are such that I am in support of individual freedoms. If two consenting adults want to commit themselves legally and a church is willing to marry them, then what is it of my business. If it is wrong to them then they wouldn’t do it. 

I think people should be empathetic. If your son or daughter came out as a homosexual how would you feel? Maybe you would feel disappointed or sad, but do you love your son or daughter any less? You may  disagree or disapprove. However, if they are an adult and you reared them in a loving home and taught them all the morals and values the best you can, then what else can you do? They are going to make choices independent of their parents, not despite them. You do not have to approve, but this doesn’t make them evil and they aren’t any less worthy of love.

Not to be flippant, but I just don’t see that this is a huge issue when we are 6 trillion in debt with a Congress that hasn’t passed a budget in years, doing nothing for energy independence, and have a ton of people unemployed. 

2 thoughts on “Speck or plank? Who is the judge? Let’s move on please.

  1. Thank you!!!! Finally someone has just come out and said it!!!! Good for you Rachel….Who are we to judge what others do when we ourselves do so many things in our lives that others may not approve of!!!! BRAVO!!! I agree that they need to focus on the deficiet and unemployment as well as the homeless and our soldiers overseas, not gay marriage!!!! Put that energy into our depleted ozone layer if you have to go on television and speak on something that is not solving our economic problems in this country….BRAVO again!!!!

Leave a Reply

